Recipe: Veggie Sausage and Portobello Breakfast Casserole

First of all, I apologize for the less-than-stellar iPhone pics. My DSLR is currently in the trunk of the car, and it’s chilly and rainy so I didn’t feel like venturing outside before eating breakfast. In any event, it’s a breakfast casserole–there’s not much to see other than the delicious cheesy topping.

Last night we had grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches with tomato soup for dinner (yum!), and since I had to go to the grocery store to pick up ingredients for dinner and for the cake I’m making this weekend I decided I may as well get something for Saturday morning brunch. I bought some hearty white bread from the bakery section (my local ShopRite has bread from Teixeira Bakery, which I think is about as yummy as you can get from the supermarket) for the grilled cheese, but figured I’d have enough left over to whip up a breakfast casserole. I also knew I had some veggie sausage patties from Morningstar Farms hanging out in my freezer which, combined with the cheese left over from the grilled cheese and some portobello mushrooms would make a tasty breakfast.

This is definitely something that you can prep the night before if you’re like me and prefer to just stick something in the oven on Saturday morning instead of standing in the kitchen chopping veggies and grating cheese.

Veggie Sausage and Portobello Breakfast Casserole
serves 4

6 eggs
1 cup of milk
4 cups of bread broken into bite-size chunks (a crusty bread works best, but if you are using sliced sandwich bread, dry it out a little by baking in a low-temperature oven for about 10 minutes)
2 or 3 meatless sausage patties (feel free to substitute real sausage if that’s what you prefer)
3-4 oz. portobello mushrooms, cubed
1 cup shredded cheese
(I used sharp cheddar)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease an oven-safe baking dish with a 6 cup capacity.  11 x 7 x 2 will work.  I used a loaf size because that was the one that was clean! The only difference will be how long your casserole has to cook.

Whisk together eggs and milk with a little salt and pepper–I didn’t measure here, I just used a few turns of each of the mills.

In the baking dish, combine bread pieces, mushrooms, crumbled up sausage and shredded cheese.  If you’re using a loaf pan, you may want to do this in two layers so that there is good distribution of ingredients throughout the casserole.

Pour egg mixture over the other ingredients and, if necessary, press down a little to help the bread absorb the liquid.  Cover and refrigerate if you’re making this the night before–take the casserole out of the refrigerator and allow to stand at room temperature for about 20 minutes prior to baking.

Bake at 350F for 40-50 minutes, or until egg mixture is no longer bubbly and a sharp knife inserted into center of casserole comes out clean (or with just a little melted cheese).

About Heather

31 (for the moment). Lawyer, wife, photographer, baker, writer, knitter, runner, film critic, geek, trivia buff. Fighting tooth and nail against growing up and being an "adult".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe: Veggie Sausage and Portobello Breakfast Casserole

Leave a Reply

